Org or Com


There’s been this awful feeling lurking about. It whispers, time is slipping away. There’s an urgency to spread the words that ring loud within my soul.  I mean, that’s why I made the decision to start a WordPress blog in the first place.  Journaling was just not cutting it anymore.  If I am the only person who ever gets inspiration from the chicken scratch markings in my notebooks, then, we have a problem.

From the first time I read a quote from Marianne Williamson’s book, “The Return to Love,” (read it here) I used it to persuade people into believing they had to be courageous enough to take the leap of faith toward doing what’s in their heart.  She basically says that playing small is a disservice to all humanity.  So what was I doing when I spoke words of encouragement to others, but didn’t heed my own words?  I was playing it small.

So, here I am now.  After fighting with my insecurities for years untold, I have decided to write a blog.  Wordpress seems very popular, so I chose them as my platform. Little did I know, I was in for a ride I hadn’t expected.

Right off the back, I was presented with conflict.  I typed Wordpress into my internet browser only to have it reveal to me that there were two.  Yes, I said it.  There are two options for Wordpress.  There is a .org version and a .com version.  What’s the difference?  At first, I thought, one is free and one will cost you some money.  With the .org version you have to download the software, buy a domain name, and then you have to find a web-host to deliver your blog to the world.  With the .com version, everything is a lot simpler.  You use the software online and they provide you with a domain name of your choice.  However, the domain name is followed by .wordpress.com.  They also host it for you, with limited space, and deliver it to the world.  Since time is slipping away, I chose the .com version.  I just wanted to get my foot in the door.

Everything seemed just peachy at first.  I set up the name I wanted and filled out my profile.  I then perused through the free themes they offer.  I ended up choosing one other than the one I’m using now.  The first one I chose was great.  In fact, they are all great.  However, some offer a lot less customization than others.  When the first theme I chose proved to not give me what I desired, I chose another, only to find that one did not serve my needs as well.  So, I chose another, then another, and another…. There were still plenty more to choose from before I settled on the one I’m using now.  It was getting a little redundant choosing a theme to find out it’s limitations.  Of course, for a fee, you can always upgrade your free theme.  Or, you can purchase one of the premium ones, which can cost you over one hundred dollars.  I was soon comparing wordpress.com to one of those free to play games you can play on your mobile device.  It’s free to play, but if you really want to have fun, you have to make one of those “in app” purchases.  WordPress.com is a great service for a beginner like myself.  If your site ends up getting more traffic you can always upgrade.

https://signup.wordpress.com/signup/

Upgrade Prices

If that doesn’t appeal to you, you can simply try out wordpress.org.

In the midst of my frustration from dealing with the limitations of my free wordpress.com theme, I decided to check out wordpress.org.  Let’s just say, there are a whole other set of frustrations that come with that.

First, I had to set up a home server.  There are just too many details involved with that for me to go into here. You’ll have to read about that later (future post).  Once I got my server up and running, it was a whole other ballgame.

There’s different plug-ins you can install.  You can change the font sizes and colors at will. Since you’re not stuck with the two or three options the free themes offer, you can make each page totally different from the next.  You can add code if you like, animated art, whatever you like.  With wordpress.org the sky’s the limit.  Of course, you still have to find a web-host and have it delivered to the world.  If time is slipping away, this might not be a good option.  But, I started the process anyway.  You can read about it later. (read it here).  I found some pretty good options.

At the end of the day, I didn’t have to choose org or com.  I chose both.  I started with wordpress.com because it’s a great place for a beginner to get their feet wet.  The free themes might have their limitations, but they serve their purpose.  After all, a good blog should be about the content, not the packaging, right?  However, I can be pretty creative.  So, I am in the process of setting up my blog using wordpress.org.  I thought ahead and registered the same domain name as I’m using at wordpress.com.  This way, no matter what, “What I Gotta Say About It” will always point to me.  The place I’m registered with has some pretty good options for hosting.  I’m sure I will have lots to tell you later.  At least for now, the feeling of time slipping away has subsided a bit.  I’m doing it.  I’m releasing all that stuff that is within me and revealing what I gotta say about it.

If you’re reading this and contemplating starting your own blog, or pursuing any other creative outlet,  I suggest you go for it.  Time waits for no one my friend.  I also hope that my little rambling has helped you decide Org or Com.  Or, in my case, both.

Best Regards

4 thoughts on “Org or Com

What Do You Gotta Say?

