Definitely the “good old days.”


Salad Days

Is there a period in your own personal life that you think of as the good old days? Tell us a story about those innocent and/or exciting times (or lack thereof).


When I reflect on days gone by, I can recall many so called “good old days.”

Life as a child was definitely fun.  Everything was still new and it was an adventure each day I woke up.  Learning new games like hide and go seek, tag, and red rover, red rover, send Jessica right over, was so exciting.  The first day in kindergarten was nerve wrecking and I cried my eyes out.  I didn’t want my mom to leave.  On the second day, however, I nearly pushed her out of the classroom.  Being a child was definitely the “good old days.”

Thirteen years old was pretty neat too, now that I think of it.  It was such a thrill being a teenager.  I even got to go to a different school than my brother.  I was mister big shot.  All these sensations that were happening in my body were all new.  The first coarse, wire-like hair I discovered, nearly made me flip my lid.  I was becoming a man.  The early teens were definitely the “good old days.”

Oh, but wait.  Having a girlfriend was “the bomb” or for the older generation, “the cats meow.”  There was nothing like it when you bragged to your friends.  The first time we kissed holds a special place in my heart as well.  My first girlfriend was definitely the “good old days.”

There’s so much more though.  My first true love, my first car, me first job.  There are countless memories that can be considered the “good old days.”

I suppose the “good old days” are never really gone.  We still have them ingrained in our memories.  I’d also like to think that my “good old days” haven’t even happened yet.  There’s still a lot of life left for me to live.  I’m sure I still have many new “first” to experience.  In years to come, I’ll look back on those experiences and claim, that was definitely the “good old days.”

Salad Days

6 thoughts on “Definitely the “good old days.”

What Do You Gotta Say?

