A Different Knowledge Base


jarmoluk / Pixabay

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The New School.”

You get to redesign school as we know it from the ground up. Will you do away with reading, writing, and arithmetic? What skills and knowledge will your school focus on imparting to young minds?


I’ve always had a problem with school. It’s not that I was dumb or anything like that. Despite my conflict, I actually did very well in school. I did, however, always seemed to have my teachers comment on my report card, saying “Jose is very bright, but he seems to drift of, daydream, or lose track.”

The funny thing is, I only drifted off when I was bored. If it was something I was interested in I was fully aware and engaged. Some of this depended on the teacher. Other times, it was the subject at hand.

From my own experience as a student and as a person who worked with the developmentally challenged community, I can definitely say our education system is in need of a reform.

continue reading

3 thoughts on “A Different Knowledge Base

      • I mean, to me, it was really boring to study in school. Most teachers have taught us in some sort of mechanical way. Without passion, without willing to unleash our potential and to know students’ interests. Though our History teacher was great. Teachers are paid £120 per month in Russia. Do you think our salary affects the way we work?

        Like

What Do You Gotta Say?

